Home » Exam Preparation » Governors in India – List of Indian States & Union Territories Governors

Governors in India – List of Indian States & Union Territories Governors

List of Governors of Indian States and Union Territories is one of the most common topics for the General Awareness section for various Government exams conducted in the country.

There are a total of 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India and each state has a Governor who is the chief executive head of that particular state and acts as a Central Government representative.

In this article, we bring to you the list of Governors of Indian States and the list of Lieutenant Governors of Indian Union Territories. Their role and responsibilities, powers, term and other facts have been discussed further below in this article.

List of Governors of India – Statewise

The table given below gives the state-wise list of Governors in India along with the dates on which they took over the position. Also the names of the first state Governor of Independent India have been mentioned in the list below:

List of Current Governors in India
State Current Governor Took Over The Post On First State Governor of Independent India
Andhra Pradesh Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan July 24, 2019 Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi
Arunachal Pradesh Brig. (Dr.) B. D. Mishra (Retd.) October 3, 2017 Bhishma Narain Singh
Assam Prof. Jagdish Mukhi October 1, 2017 Sir Muhammad Saleh Akbar Hydari
Bihar Shri Phagu Chauhan July 29, 2019 Jairamdas Daulatram
Chhattisgarh Sushri Anusuiya Uikey July 29, 2019 D.N. Sahay
Goa Shri Satya Pal Malik November 3, 2019 Major General K.P. Candeth
Gujarat Shri Acharya Dev Vrat July 22, 2019 Mehdi Nawaz Jung
Haryana Shri Satyadeo Narayan Arya August 25, 2018 Shri Dharma Vira
Himachal Pradesh Shri Bandaru Dattatraya September 11, 2019 S. Chakravarti
Jharkhand Shrimati Droupadi Murmu May 18, 2015 Prabhat Kumar
Karnataka Shri Vajubhai Vala September 1, 2014 Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar
Kerala Shri Arif Mohammed Khan September 6, 2019 Burgula Ramakrishna Rao
Madhya Pradesh Shri Lal Ji Tandon July 29, 2019 Dr. Pattahbhi Sitaramayya
Maharashtra Shri Bhagat Singh Koshyari September 5, 2019 Raja Sir Maharaj Singh
Manipur Dr. Najma Heptulla August 21, 2016 B. K. Nehru
Meghalaya Shri Tathagata Roy January 27, 2020 Braj Kumar Nehru
Mizoram Shri P.S. Sreedharan Pillai November 5, 2019 S.P. Mukherjee
Nagaland Shri R. N. Ravi August 1, 2019 Vishnu Sahay
Odisha Prof. Ganeshi Lal May 29, 2018 Dr. Kailash Nath Katju
Punjab Shri V.P. Singh Badnore August 22, 2016 Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi
Rajasthan Shri Kalraj Mishra September 9, 2019 Raj Pramukh Sawai Sh. Mansingh
Sikkim Shri Ganga Prasad August 26, 2018 B.B. Lal
Tamil Nadu Shri Banwarilal Purohit October 6, 2017 Maharaja Shri Sir Krishna Kumarsingji Bhavsingji
Telangana Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan September 8, 2019 E.S.L. Narasimhan
Tripura Shri Ramesh Bais July 29, 2019 B.K. Nehru
Uttar Pradesh Smt. Anandiben Patel July 29, 2019 Sarojini Naidu
Uttarakhand Smt. Baby Rani Maurya August 26, 2018 Surjit Singh Barnala
West Bengal Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar July 30, 2019 Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari
Related:  SSC CGL 2018

Aspirants must ensure that they prepare themselves thoroughly for the static GK part of the upcoming Government exams as the questions asked are indirect and candidates must be prepared for it.

List of Lieutenant Governors And Administrators for Union Territories

The post of Lieutenant Governors in a Union Territory is the same as that of a Governor in any State. The Lieutenant Governor is appointed by the President of India for a tenure of five years.

There are a total of 8 Union Territories in India and given below is the list of Lieutenant Governor and Administrators for these Union Territories along with the dates they took over the post:

Lieutenant Governors And Administrators for Union Territories
Union Territory Lieutenant Governor (LG)/ Administrator Took Over the Post on
Andaman & Nicobar Islands Admiral D.K. Joshi (LG) October 8, 2017
Chandigarh Shri V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator) August 22, 2016
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Shri Praful Patel (Administrator) January 26, 2020
The Government of NCT of Delhi Shri Anil Baijal (LG) December 31, 2016
Jammu & Kashmir Shri Girish Chandra Murmu (LG) October 31, 2019
Ladakh Shri Radha Krishna Mathur (LG) October 31, 2019
Lakshadweep Shri Dineshwar Sharma (Administrator) November 3, 2019
Puducherry Dr. Kiran Bedi (LG) May 29, 2016
Related:  SSC CGL 2018

Governor of India – Role And Responsibilities

Governor is the constitutional head of each state. Every action taken in a state is done in the name of the Governor by the executive power (Chief Minister) of that State.

Being the nominal head of the State, various responsibilities rest with the Governor and the Lieutenant Governor/Administrator. Given below are these responsibilities in brief:

  • Legislative, Judicial, Executive and Financial powers are laid down for the Governor of a State
  • They have the right to address, summon, differ and dissolve the State Legislatures
  • In case of unforeseen circumstances, the Governor reserves the right to  make advances from the State Contingency Fund
  • The Chief Justice of a State High Court is elected with the consent of the State Governor
  • If no political party wins the Lok Sabha election, Governor holds the right to elect the Chief Minister for their states
  • In case of constitutional emergency, the President’s rule in a state is acted upon by the Governor
  • He can disqualify any member from elections with the consent of the Election Commission
  • State Legislators need to lay the state budget keeping the Governor’s opinion in consideration

The above mentioned points are few of the many responsibilities that a Governor and the Lieutenant Governor or Administrator needs to fulfill.

Governor/Lieutenant Governor/Administrator – Key Points

There are certain points that need to be know with respect to the state Governor, Lieutenant Governor or Administrator in India:

  • They are appointed for a tenure of 5 years
  • As per the Governor’s Act of 1982, the monthly salary of a Governor is Rs. 1,10,000/-
  • The eligibility to become a Governor includes being a citizen of India, age above 35 years, must not hold any office of profit and he/she must not be a member of any state of union territory legislature
  • The same Governor can be appointed for more than one state
  • The Governor resides in the Raj Bhavan of the state during his/her tenure and is entitled to a fixed pension
  • Sarojini Naidu was the first woman to become an Indian state Governor
Related:  SSC CGL 2018

These are the few pointers that are important with respect to the General Awareness section of the various Government exams.

Sample Questions for List of Governors in India

Given below are a few sample questions related to the list of Governors in India which may help aspirants analyse the type of questions that may be asked from this topic in the upcoming government exams.

Q 1. Who was the first woman Governor of an Indian state?

Q 2. Who appoints the Governor of a State?

Q 3. Which of the following is not a responsibility of the state Governor? (Here candidates will have to choose the answer from the given options)

Q 4. What is the minimum age for a person to be eligible to become the Governor of a state?

Q 5. Who took over the post of Governor in Uttar Pradesh after Shri Ram Naik? (This may be asked with respect to any other state/UT)

Q 6. Who was the first Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh?

Q 7. Which article of Indian Constitution provides for a Governor?

Q 8. Who has the authority to remove or replace the Governor of a State?

Leave a Comment